NAPPEX (Artificial Nurseries for Exemplary Ports) is an appellation that identifies exemplary ports committed to sustain biodiversity within their water by implementing habitats adapted to fish larvae and many other marine species.

What is an artificial nursery?

An artificial nursery is an infrastructure restoring the nursery function of shallow rocky and sandy bottoms who have been destroyed through construction works induced by coastal development. The process aims to provide habitat for post-larvae and young fish recruits, allowing them to be protected from predation while they reach “the refuge size”. They will then be able to contribute to the increase of local adult populations.

Towards Exemplary Ports

Thanks to the existence of a diversified range of artificial nurseries, docks, rocky breakwaters, pontoons and all coastal infrastructures can become true shelters for many aquatic species. Ports can thus contribute to the improvement of biodiversity within their environment. A NAPPEX port is a port that, after having committed itself to a “clean port” plan of action (water quality, waste management …), decides to take a step further towards exemplarity by integrating biodiversity to its environmental approach.

Why getting involved in a NAPPEX approach?

Biohut protect and restore biodiversity to contribute to a good environmental status, meets environmental regulations (MSFD 2008/56 / EC and WFD 2000/60 /EC), facilitates the acceptance of maritime development projects while promoting the port environmental commitment to citizens and users.

NAPPEX (Nurseries Artificielles Pour Ports Exemplaires) est aujourd’hui une appellation qui identifie les ports exemplaires ayant comme engagement de favoriser la biodiversité dans leurs eaux par la mise en place d’habitats adaptés aux larves de poissons ainsi qu’à de nombreuses espèces marines.

Qu'est-ce qu'une nurserie artificielle?

Une nurserie artificielle est une infrastructure qui permet de rétablir le rôle de nurserie des petits fonds rocheux et sableux détruits lors de la construction d’aménagements côtiers. Le procédé vise à fournir un habitat aux post-larves et jeunes recrues de poisson, leur permettant d’atteindre à l’abri de la prédation «la taille refuge». Elles pourront ainsi contribuer à l’accroissement des populations adultes alentours.

Vers des Ports Exemplaires

Grâce aux différents types de nurseries artificielles existantes, les quais, les digues, les pontons, ainsi que tous les aménagements côtiers deviennent de véritables refuges pour de nombreuses espèces aquatiques. Les ports contribuent ainsi à l’amélioration de la biodiversité au sein de leur environnement. Un port engagé NAPPEX, c’est un port qui, après avoir engagé une démarche « port propre » (qualité de l’eau, gestion des dêchets…), décide de franchir un pas de plus vers l’exemplarité en intégrant la biodiversité dans sa démarche.

Pourquoi s'engager dans une démarche NAPPEX?

Biohut protège et restaure la biodiversité pour contribuer au bon état écologique, répond aux réglementations environnementales (DCSMM 2008/56/CE et DCE 2000/60/CE), facilite l’acceptation des projets d’aménagements maritimes tout en valorisant la démarche environnementale du port auprès des citoyens et usagers.